?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Mon, Aug. 7th, 2006, 10:56 pm
emergingmuses: Ricky Bobby (and it's ridiculously long title)

Funny. Just plain and simple comedy. Will Ferrell didn't piss me off as much as he usually does and it was just a "sit back and laugh your ass off" movie.

Also, Sacha Cohen (the guy who plays Gerard in the movie) is a phenomenal comedian. He has another movie coming out soon called "Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan" and this is based on a show on Showcase and seriously, you will LAUGH so hard at his character in this movie and in the one mentioned above, I just know it.

hehehe

***/***** for good times and good comedy, Ferrell style.

"Hakuna matata, bitches"
hahaha

Thu, Jun. 22nd, 2006, 10:49 pm
emergingmuses: The DaVinci Code

Praises:

-Paul Bettany as Silas. Wow.

- amazing score and damn, I knew it was James Horner...him and his repetitive scoring! grah! haha

- astounding visuals and CGI effects.



Criticisms:

- Tom Hanks. Don't be that "wooden actor" guy. If you pull a Cary Elwes on me, I'll be REALLY pissed.

- Acting in general. I nearly fell asleep a few times because everything was ridiculously slowpaced. I suppose that's what happens when you adapt a book which is 90% dialogue between 2 or 3 people.

- Been deemed a "thriller" type movie. This is not the case. It's a suspense drama if anything. DEFINITELY not thrilling.

- Speak French or English. PICK one. STICK with it. (Italian was okay since it was reflective of the religious sect)



The DaVinci Code was visually astounding but really, like the book, did nothing for me. Ron Howard tries too hard, like most directors these days. Poor Opie.

**1/2/*****

Sun, Jan. 22nd, 2006, 11:55 am
desiderata_7171: Brokeback Mountain-a true force of nature

****/*****

Synopsis--- Based on the E. Annie Proulx story about a forbidden and secretive relationship between two cowboys and their lives over the years.

Praises---

-Beautiful direction by Ang Lee. The scope, depth and emotion he brings to this film, truly excels over the novel.

- Newfound respect for actor Jake Gyllenhaal whose emotional speech about "unsatisfying situations" truly brought tears to my eyes. He brought a new understanding to 'the other half' of a relationship and played it beautifully.

- The shocking and truthful display of love, unconventional and raw. It was quite a change from your "meet, woo, kiss, have sex" drivel that you normally find in love stories.
- Cinematography of Brokeback Mountain should have "Oscar" written all over it. I really don't believe there is/should be another contender that can touch it. Makes me proud to see Canada's beauty on the big screen.

- Ang Lee, again, bringing the weather elements to play a character all on its own. The juxtaposition between the scenes and the weather really heightened the emotions portrayed by the actors. Brilliant.

-There was no 'good guy'/'bad guy' like in most love stories which I thought was fantastic. I was truly torn between the various relationships in this film. Well done.

Criticisms---

- Anne Hathaway. I love her work but I think she was really trying *too* hard to tarnish the "Princess" typecast. She achieved it in this movie of course through nude scenes and being a very apathetic based character but it almost seemed like the audience was forced to accept this. It certainly did not come off naturally.

- Heath Ledger similarily trying to play "cowboy" came off as muddled and poorly portrayed. His character was played well but he too, seemed to be trying a little too hard. It really takes away from the message when the acting is destroyed.

- Jumpy scenes between past and present. I'm not a fan of them and it makes me feel like I'm watching a sitcom.


Audience Recommendations---I really do NOT agree with the AFB's 14A recommendation. The coarse language, thematic elements, sexuality, nudity and violence would not be suitable for those of only 14 years. I recommend that a mature, and very open minded audience attend this film because you are faced with many conflicting emotions and brutal honesty of the love these two men shared together.
Rating of 18A would be more appropriate overall.

(KING KONG AND NARNIA STILL COMING AFTER A SECOND REVIEW OF THE MOVIE...expect it soon! PS- OTHER PEOPLE: POST YOUR REVIEWS!!! That's what this community is for!!)

Tue, Dec. 27th, 2005, 04:00 pm
desiderata_7171: Apologies

Chronicles of Narnia AND KIng Kong reviews are coming!!!
I promise to have at LEAST one done by Saturday!

Thu, Dec. 15th, 2005, 01:02 pm
desiderata_7171: Another Adaptation of Pride and Prejudice

***/***** or 3/5 reels!

Based on the critically acclaimed novel by Jane Austen, "Pride and Prejudice" is the story of the Bennet sisters (Jane, Elizabeth, Lydia, Mary and Kitty). Life is uneventful for the girls until the arrival in the neighbourhood of a wealthy and kind gentleman named Mr Bingley, who rents a large house so he can spend the summer in the country. Mr Bingley brings with him his two sisters and the dashing (and richer) but proud Mr Darcy. Love is soon in the air for one of the Bennet sisters, while another may have jumped to a hasty prejudgment. For the Bennet sisters many trials and tribulations stand between them and their happiness, including class, gossip and scandal.

Praises-

-Visually beautiful, the scenery and cinematography captures the peaceful and lost age of Miss Austen's society.
- The soundtrack is lovely and I found it to be the most rewarding part of the experience of seeing this movie. The music reflects each of the sisters, especially Elizabeth as she faces her personal trials and tribulations.
- Keira Knightley portrays a very believable Elizabeth Bennet (besides the fact that she was quite thin and during the era, few women were thin but were shaped more like 'hour-glasses') and the rest of the cast (with notable praises for Donald Sutherland (Mr. Bennet) and Simon Woods (Mr. Bingley- who was just adorable)) did a very realistic version of the novel and made it even feel slightly modern so that audiences could identify with many of the characters.
- 'Newcommer' Matthew MacFadyen gave Colin Firth a little 'run for his money' as Mr. Darcy. I really enjoyed his portrayal. He was a snob you could certainly end up falling in love with, make no mistake!


Criticisms-

Confusing start if you are unaware of the storyline in the book. Often many of the scenes were chaotic and rushed. However, this may be because the girls are directed to behave in such a way so that the audience can laugh and understand their relationships better.
- The cast is English. With the above observation of chaotic scenes, if you have any difficulty understanding their accents, it may be difficult to follow along at first.
- Disliked the jump cuts. They are very obviously done and it became irrtating after a while. With a movie such as this, I believe it is important to have the scenes flow.
- While P&P was well done, to me, it was just another adaptation. I often wonder when Miss Austen's classic will be left in peace and valued as a book, rather than a constantly adapted film.


Audience recommendations- I agree with the FBA recommendations of G. There is nothing to hinder younger audiences from attending, as long as they can follow the story line. I would recommend this especially to art-based audiences who appreciate beauty in landscapes and music.



(IN OTHER NEWS---Chronicles of Narnia review coming tomorrow!!!)

Sun, Dec. 11th, 2005, 10:54 pm
desiderata_7171: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Awesome...I mean, Fire

2005 (****/***** OR 4/5 reels!)

Harry Potter is now in 4th grade at Hogwarts School for Wizards and this year finds himself selected as an underaged competitor in a dangerous multi-wizardary school competition...and little does he know, something is about to happen during the tournament that will attempt to destroy him.

Praises- Well adapted version of a very long novel. Visually amazing, something I'm happy to see has continued through all 4 movies thus far.
- Dragons and labyrinths. Need I say more?
- Director Mike Newell did an excellent job of showing the 'coming of age' of Harry and his friends in this movie. More emotionally complex which older audiences will enjoy with just a touch of mild sexual humour here and there.
- Brendan Gleeson as Mad Eye Moody. I love this actor (Braveheart among others) and he portrayed the role in such a fantastic manner. Easily one of the best 'new' characters in the Potter series
- Ralph Fiennes as...well, You-Know-Who. I won't spoil it but he is AWESOME. The man has never stirred me wrong and this is definitely no exception.


Criticisms- Confusing start if you are unaware of the storyline in the book.
- Many things left unexplained in the movie, again, if you haven't read the book. This is a reoccurring criticism for me because while the movie is based on a book, it is unfair to assume that all audience members have read the book.
- Major characters didn't really do/say much which disappointed me because they have in the past been very principle characters and related a great deal to the action and plot (besides Harry of course)


Audience recommendations- I agree with the FBA recommendations of PG-13. Harry's growing up parents, little ones should not be there. There are some scary scenes that even made me a little creeped out. Plus, there are developments of mature themes...and little ones may not understand.
Enjoyable for all however, if you're prepared to answer a lot of questions to younger audience members/people who haven't read the book!

Fri, Dec. 9th, 2005, 04:04 pm
larenard: The RENT's due

Okay so hi to everyone first!
desiderata_7171 thanks for the invite!


SO I saw RENT a few weeks ago and I honest to God loved it.
what its about:
a musical about 8 friends surviving life and love in NYC during the outbreak of AIDS in the late 1980's.

1) the directing by Chris Columbus really gave it a rougher edge to the AIDS crisis and he also did things with the movie that on stage just wouldnt be understood.
2) most of the original cast was in it. R. Dawson was amazing as MiMi (shes also in Sin City) and seeing Idina Menzel as Maureen just rocked my world.
3) some things ARE taken out of the original musical but they end up working out.

one thing i didnt really like:

speaking when it should be sung. i always hate that about movie-musicals.

still, a solid 4/5. creative, emotional, fun and even hilarious @ times.
age group recommended: issues in it lead me to give it a PG-13 or 14A rating.

if any of you have seen it, what did you think? fave song or scene? character?

Thu, Dec. 8th, 2005, 10:55 pm
desiderata_7171: Stanley Kubrick's "A Clockwork Orange"

Stanley Kubrick- “Directing God Among Men”

I have been a fan of Stanley Kubrick since 1998. My first film experience by him was the classic horror movie “The Shining” starring Jack Nicholson and features the infamous line “Heeerrre’s Johnny!” Since that day, I have literally hunted for the rest of his masterpieces. While he did not make many films in over 40 years, the ones left behind are nothing short but sheer brilliance.
The following is a review of just ONE that I have seen, followed by my praises and criticisms. Enjoy!



A Clockwork Orange (1971)- ****/***** (4/5 stars or reels!)

Based on the novel by Anthony Burgess (which I recommend for all you readers out there) and written for the screen and directed by Stanley Kubrick. In a futuristic Britain, a gang of teenagers go on the rampage every night, beating and raping helpless victims. After one of the boys quells an uprising in the gang (Alex- played by the talented Malcolm McDowell), they knock him out and leave him for the police to find. He agrees to try "aversion therapy" to shorten his jail sentence. When he is eventually let out, he hates violence, but the rest of his gang members are still after him with the same enthusiasm Alex had always exhibited when performing his crimes.

Praises- An excellent look at the difference between what a person chooses to do and what society makes a person do.
- Often disturbing to the point where it becomes hilarious
- The music juxtaposing the images or situations. For example, there is one specific rape scene where the gang sings “Singing in the Rain” which is a cheery song. Meanwhile, the woman is being savagely raped and abused.
- Wonderful array of images (often disturbing and funny/shocking) and music (especially classical pieces)
- Very realistic look on gang violence, especially futuristically.
- The language- Russian mixed with British slang. Amazing and unique for a film at this time.
- I love controversial social commentary films. This and “Full Metal Jacket (1987)” are two of the best films ever made based on social commentary.

Criticisms- A very uncomfortable movie for first time viewers. It is shocking and disgusting at times. Themes such as rape, abuse, extreme violence and murder weigh heavily in the plot.
- Language can be difficult to understand (which is also why I recommend you read the novel first OR watch this movie with someone who has already seen it)
- The actual message of “Clockwork Orange” is not clear. Clockwork Oranges literally represent what happens to people who are subjected to abrasion therapy (meaning they become fruitless pieces of existence). While this is represented in the character of the author, it is not explained well enough to the audience.
- Quite frankly, while this movie is one of the most amazing and provoking films ever made, the novel is far better.


Favourite Quote- Alex: Welly, welly, welly, welly, welly, welly, well. To what do I owe the extreme pleasure of this surprising visit?

And…

Alex: Well, well, well! Well if it isn't fat stinking billy goat Billy Boy in poison! How art thou, thou globby bottle of cheap stinking chip oil? Come and get one in the yarbles, if ya have any yarble, ya eunuch jelly thou!

Audience recommendations- This is, without a doubt, one of the most disturbing and graphic movies ever made and even though it was made in the 70’s, it was almost banned in the UK. It’s rather obvious that this movie is not for young people. I would not recommend this movie for anyone who is easily offended or would be disturbed by the themes in this movie (see above for examples). 17+ recommendations for modern day audiences, mature ones especially.